What Will Your Verse Be?

Incredibly powerful blog post about “What will your verse be?” from the movie Dead Poet’s Society. Very moving and incredibly powerful writer. Please check it out if you have a chance.

Teach with Class

 

I have no idea how many times I have seen Dead Poet’s Societybut every time I do I get tears in my eyes when the students stand on their desks and say “O Captain! My Captain!” to honor Mr. Keating when he is being forced to leave his teaching job because he taught students how to think and not simply how to conform.  Ironically and sadly, this movie also deals with suicide.

Mr. Keating inspired in me the type of teacher I wanted to become. He taught me that teaching literature is opening a window to the soul rather than explaining words on a page. He taught me that literature is best learned by incorporating it into life rather than having your head buried in a textbook. He taught me that literature is relevant to every generation; a great teacher can unlock these timeless themes to his…

View original post 220 more words

Leave a Reply

